15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 http://www.njracket.com 300

Exclusive Interview with Guided By Voices’ Mark Shue

This Wednesday at White Eagle Hall in Jersey City, indie rock O.G.’s Guided By Voices will take the stage in celebration of their latest release, Space Gun.  The album is the 25th from the band since their debut Devil Between My Toes in 1987.  Leading up to the show, N.J. Racket was given the unique opportunity to interview Mark Shue, Guided By Voices’ bassist for their  previous three albums and member of the live band since its inception in 2016.  The interview was conducted by Eric Truchan, the drummer of New Jersey band Secretary Legs and a true Guided By Voices and Robert Pollard super fan.  Eric has his own blog in which is a song by song review of every Robert Pollard song ever, which, as you would guess, is an unbelievable amount of music.

From Eric’s own review of Space Gun, posted to An Earful O’Wax: Guided By Voices/Robert Pollard Song By Song Review, “Space Gun is further studio progression in the new life that pulsates through the ultimate band, keeping it in motion; behold the mighty Guided by Voices. Back from their possibly best sounding studio LP, How Do You Spell Heaven, the newest LP is another exercise in high kicks, and top notch production courtesy of recording engineer Travis Harrison. Harrison was also at the helm for the sonic bombast of ESP Ohio’s Starting Point... along with much of August By Cake.”

Remembering Coyote Records

Hoboken, New Jersey, a mile square city in the shadow of The Big Apple,  served as the launch pad for some of indie rock’s true giants.  Instrumental to the success of many of these artists is Coyote Records, a label primarily focusing on releasing acts that frequented Hoboken clubs on a regular basis.  Established in 1985 by original Maxwell’s owner Steve Fallon, the label’s first release was a compilation of area artists presciently titled “Luxury Condominiums Coming To Your Area.” It featured tracks from Hobokenites Yo La Tengo, Rage To Live, and The Wygals. 

Bobby Mahoney and the Seventh Son Make Statement with Eponymous EP

After a year of heavy touring, Bobby Mahoney and the Seventh Son have released their eponymous EP. With boundless energy, driving guitars, and catchy choruses that beg you to shout along, Bobby Mahoney and the Seventh Son works to convey all the spirit of a live show by a band that truly seems to love what they do.

The band wastes no time getting down to business with “Empty Passenger Seats.” Mahoney’s growly vocals infuse just the right amount of punk-rock whine over the pounding drums and guitars, and leave this first track with a shouting refrain to get you pumped up—but don’t get too excited yet. Things are just getting started.

Exclusive Interview with ManDancing

Local favorites ManDancing announced earlier this week that they will be rereleasing their debut album Everyone Else on Take This to Heart Records, marking a significant step forward.  One of the first bands covered on N.J. Racket, it’s been a privilege to watch the band grow and develop for almost two years now and more so to see the fruits of their labor to finally pay off.  In the past few days, I got to catch up with Stephen Gerard and Ben Petty to talk about everything that’s been happening with the band, where they’ve been, and where they’re going.

Single Premiere: Hungry Cats by Guilty Giraffe

The young trio from Yonkers, Guilty Giraffe, is back at it with the release of their new single. “Hungry Cats,” on Mint 400 Records.  The single is the second follow up to their debut full length Server Error,  which was released last May, and comes on the heels of their most recent single, “Washed Out.”  Guilty Giraffe had made a name for themselves with their loud, raucous style, but have taken leaps and bounds in their song writing approach as of late and are demonstrating a much more mature sound that retains the noisy fuzz, but is more intricate and refined.  Such steps forward at still such a young age really show off the amount of potential this band has a head.

Fair Panic’s New Album Will Give You Every One of the FEELS

Tory Anne Daines’ new project, Fair Panic, has recently released FEELS, a baroque rock masterpiece. Backed by Tom Monda, Michael Abiuso, Steven Kirsty, Dan Bindschedler, Rob Fitzgerald, Kennedy Grey, Skylar Ross, and Ryan Palermo, the band blends theremin, omnichord, and electric violin with guitars and brass to create a modern baroque sound. Everything about this album, is beautiful, yet dark and complex enough that it avoids coming off as saccharine. This is one of those albums where I listen to a song and think, “Oh, this is the best track on the album, for sure.” Then the next song comes on.